Writing History as a Prophet

Writing History as a Prophet

Author: Elisabeth Wesseling

Publisher: John Benjamins Publishing

ISBN: 9789027277602

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 218

View: 382

This is a postmodernist history of the historical novel with special attention to the political implications of the postmodernist attitude toward the past. Beginning with the poetics of Sir Walter Scott, Wesseling moves via a global survey of 19th century historical fiction to modernist innovations in the genre. Noting how the self-reflexive strategy enables a novelist to represent an episode from the past alongside the process of gathering and formulating historical knowledge, the author discusses the elaboration of this strategy, introduced by novelists such as Virginia Woolf and William Faulkner, in the work of, among others, Julian Barnes, Jay Cantor, Robert Coover and Graham Swift. Wesseling also shows how postmodernist writers attempt to envisage alternative sequences for historical events. Deliberately distorting historical facts, authors of such uchronian fiction, like Thomas Pynchon, Ishmael R. Read, Salman Rushdie and Gunter Grass, imagine what history looks like from the perspective of the losers, rather than the winners.
Tinderella
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-06-03 - Publisher:

Books about Tinderella
Graphic Novels: A Guide to Comic Books, Manga, and More, 2nd Edition
Language: en
Pages: 719
Authors: Michael Pawuk, David S. Serchay
Categories: Language Arts & Disciplines
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-05-30 - Publisher: ABC-CLIO

Covering genres from action/adventure and fantasy to horror, science fiction, and superheroes, this guide maps the vast and expanding terrain of graphic novels, describing and organizing titles as well as providing information that will help librarians to build and balance their graphic novel collections and direct patrons to read-alikes. •
Now #10
Language: en
Pages: 120
Authors: Various Authors
Categories: Comics & Graphic Novels
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-07-06 - Publisher: Fantagraphics Books

As Now hits its landmark tenth issue, what better time to bring back the cover artist who launched the series? Painter and cartoonist Rebecca Morgan returns with one of her signature depictions of the underbelly of America. Meanwhile, the issue also features new work by a number of familiar names,
The Best American Comics 2011
Language: en
Pages: 332
Authors: Alison Bechdel, Jessica Abel, Matt Madden
Categories: Comics & Graphic Novels
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011 - Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Features excerpts from graphic novels, newspapers, webcomics, and other sources and features work by up-and-coming contributors as well as such established artists as Joe Sacco, Jeff Smith, and Dash Shaw.
Slaughterhouse-Five
Language: en
Pages: 192
Authors: Kurt Vonnegut, Ryan North
Categories: Comics & Graphic Novels
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-09-23 - Publisher: Boom! Studios

With Kurt Vonnegut’s seminal anti-war story, Slaughterhouse-Five, Eisner Award-winning writer Ryan North (Unbeatable Squirrel Girl) and Eisner Award-nominated artist Albert Monteys (Universe!) translate a literary classic into comic book form in the tradition of A Wrinkle in Time and Fight Club 2. Billy Pilgrim has read Kilgore Trout and opened