Across the Void

Across the Void

Author: S.K. Vaughn

Publisher: Skybound Books

ISBN: 9781501181344

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 405

A visceral space thriller—perfect for fans of Arrival and The Martian—following the sole survivor of a catastrophic accident in space that leaves her drifting in the void with only the voice of her estranged husband, a NASA scientist, to guide her back to Earth. Commander Maryam “May” Knox awakes from a medically induced coma alone, adrift in space on a rapidly failing ship, with little to no memory of who she is or why she’s there. Slowly, she pieces together that she’s the captain of the ship, Hawking II; that she was bound for Europa—one of Jupiter’s moons—on a research mission; and that she’s the only survivor of either an accident—or worse, a deliberate massacre—that has decimated her entire crew. With resources running low, and her physical strength severely compromised, May must rely on someone back home to help her. The problem is: everyone thinks she’s dead. Back on Earth, it’s been weeks since Hawking II has communicated with NASA, and Dr. Stephen Knox is on bereavement leave to deal with the apparent death of his estranged wife, whose decision to participate in the Europa mission strained their marriage past the point of no return. But when he gets word that NASA has received a transmission from May, Stephen comes rushing to her aid. What he doesn’t know is that not everyone wants May to make it back alive. Even more terrifying: she might not be alone on that ship. Featuring a twisting and suspenseful plot and compelling characters, Across the Void is a moving and evocative thriller that you won’t be able to put down.
Across the Void
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: S.K. Vaughn
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-07-02 - Publisher: Skybound Books

A visceral space thriller—perfect for fans of Arrival and The Martian—following the sole survivor of a catastrophic accident in space that leaves her drifting in the void with only the voice of her estranged husband, a NASA scientist, to guide her back to Earth. Commander Maryam “May” Knox awakes from
Recent Trends in the Condition Monitoring of Transformers
Language: en
Pages: 280
Authors: Sivaji Chakravorti, Debangshu Dey, Biswendu Chatterjee
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-10-21 - Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

Recent Trends in the Condition Monitoring of Transformers reflects the current interest in replacing traditional techniques used in power transformer condition monitoring with non-invasive measures such as polarization/depolarization current measurement, recovery voltage measurement, frequency domain spectroscopy and frequency response analysis. The book stresses the importance of scrutinizing the condition of
NASA Technical Note
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: United States. National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 1959 - Publisher:

Books about NASA Technical Note
High Voltage Engineering
Language: en
Pages: 801
Authors: Farouk A.M. Rizk, Giao N. Trinh
Categories: Technology & Engineering
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-04-04 - Publisher: CRC Press

Inspired by a new revival of worldwide interest in extra-high-voltage (EHV) and ultra-high-voltage (UHV) transmission, High Voltage Engineering merges the latest research with the extensive experience of the best in the field to deliver a comprehensive treatment of electrical insulation systems for the next generation of utility engineers and electric
Smart Autoclave Cure of Composites
Language: en
Pages: 172
Authors: Peter R. Ciriscioli, George S. Springer
Categories: Technology & Engineering
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-07-28 - Publisher: CRC Press

This book describes process models for thermosetting and thermoplastic matrix composites and an expert system applicable to autoclave curing of thermosetting matrix composites. It presents a rule based expert system that can be used for real time control of the autoclave temperature and pressure.