The History of Life: A Very Short Introduction
Language: en
Pages: 184
Authors: Michael J. Benton
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-11-27 - Publisher: OUP Oxford

This Very Short Introduction presents a succinct and accessible guide to the key episodes in the story of life on earth - from the very origins of life four million years ago to the extraordinary diversity of species around the globe today.
A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth
Language: en
Pages: 188
Authors: Henry Gee
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-11-09 - Publisher: St. Martin's Press

"[A]n exuberant romp through evolution, like a modern-day Willy Wonka of genetic space. Gee’s grand tour enthusiastically details the narrative underlying life’s erratic and often whimsical exploration of biological form and function.” —Adrian Woolfson, The Washington Post In the tradition of Richard Dawkins, Bill Bryson, and Simon Winchester—An entertaining and
A (Very) Short History of Life On Earth
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Henry Gee
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-10-12 - Publisher: Macmillan

For billions of years, Earth was an inhospitably alien place – covered with churning seas, slowly crafting its landscape by way of incessant volcanic eruptions, the atmosphere in a constant state of chemical flux. And yet, despite facing literally every conceivable setback that living organisms could encounter, life has been
The History of Life: A Very Short Introduction
Language: en
Pages: 184
Authors: Michael J. Benton
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-11-27 - Publisher: OUP Oxford

There are few stories more remarkable than the evolution of life on earth. This Very Short Introduction presents a succinct guide to the key episodes in that story - from the very origins of life four million years ago to the extraordinary diversity of species around the globe today. Beginning
On the Origin of Species
Language: en
Pages: 576
Authors: Charles Darwin
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-09-03 - Publisher: Penguin UK

This exciting anniversary edition has a new introduction and scholarly references by William Bynum, and the cover design is by Damien Hirst. It replaces our existing 1968 edition. The Origin of Species is one of the most important and influential books of its time and remains one of the most